Northern Exposure…alone.

June 15 2013 Badoc Ilocos Norte.

Tour Guides from all-over the country converges in Laoag for the annual National Tourguide Association Federation Convention(June 16 and 17).

Like in the past  convention delegates would come ahead of time and go on tour.

All the delegates stays in Laoag, excluding me, I am here at the house of my cousin.

“Wen Ilocano ak” YES. I am Ilocano. 1/4 at that. My fraternal grandfather is GI (Genuine Ilocano) married a Negrense that made father 1/2, who also married a negrense, and made me..

Anyway my Ilocano lineage would be a subject of another blog.

I got a call from Cebu delgation if i will go with them to Vigan, i told them i rather wait at Juan Luna Shrine which is just next block to my cousin’s house.

image

It turn out that they run out of space in the van that they rented.

Since it was my second time to visit Ilocandia, and been to Vigan already last year, i opted to go on my own.

After all of them left Juan Luna Shrine, I hoop on a north-bound bus to the junction of Pinili.

image

Then at the junction I boarded a tricycle.

image

I went to the Kul-labeng Historical Site.

image

Kul-labing was used to be part of Badoc, is the birth place of Iglesia Filipina Indepediente also known as Aglipayans. It was here during the 42nd birthday(May 5, 1902) of Gregorio Aglipay were they declare there independence from Vatican. The event was now known as the Kul-labing Assembly.

image

The town Pinili was established on January 1 1920 by virtue of Executive Order No. 92, s. 1919.

image

Monsignor Gregorio Aglipay a rebel priest went to the thickly forested area and form a sandatahan (armed) movement to fight againts the American at the heigth of Filipino-Amirican War.

The Town is so grateful to Aglipay that I sighted 3 Monument of Aglipay (2 full bodied 1 bust) but only have one for Rizal; a bust

image

Here are the other two monuments:

image

image

Next town I Visited was the town of Magsignal, Ilocos Sur. A 3rd class municipality peopled by 27,615 in 5,311 households according to the latest census.

image

Although modernity is creeping in, the town is still very rich with vesteges  of the glorious past.

image

image

image

image

image

image

I felt my writing skill is not worthy, so i will let my pictures speak the thousand words.

image

image

image

image

image

After walking under the Ilocandia Sun, I treat my self with Ilocos pride, EMPANADA not one but two.

image

image

Empanada and old coral structure… hmmm

image

Empanada dough is made from ground rice.

image

Mixed with water and food color

image

Filled with veges and egg for ordenary and with additional ground pork for special.

image

image

image

The Empanada is available all over Ilocos Sus and Norte. Only Lucky and Neo Empanada in Magsingal offers this ambiance

image

image

image

image

I need to put down my Galaxy S4 (the gadget i used in writing this post) for dinner is ready.. promise i will write a blogpost about it.. main course is Frog.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

